Computer Science & Information Technology

Scholarship Information

Dr. Hong Zhang


External Scholarships

Goldwater Scholarships

Departmental Scholarships

Each year the Computer Science Program awards scholarships to students who will be attending Armstrong State University and majoring in Computer Science. The scholarships that are available are listed below. We thank all of our supporters for their extraordinary generosity.

Important Scholarship Information - Students applying for non-CSEMS scholarships through the Department of Computer Science must fill out an application form image and submit it to Hongjun Su before February 20.

Lancy C. Jen Scholarship

We award the Lancy C. Jen Scholarship available to outstanding students with a financial need.

Lancy C. Jen was a native of Shanghai, China, and a member of the Savannah community from 1973 on. She taught mathematics in several local educational institutions, and had an interest in encouraging talented students to continue and prosper in their study of Computer Science. She had a special concern for international students pursuing studies in the United States. This scholarship was established in 1997 to honor her father, Pei Ling Chan.

The scholarship will be awarded annually to a student who best meets the following criteria.

  • Has maintained a minimum of a B average in all university-level math courses.
  • Has demonstrated accomplishment in mathematical endeavors.
  • Is a full-time student at Armstrong and majoring in Computer Science.
  • Has a class standing at least of sophomore level.
  • Shows financial need.

 Past Recipients

  • James Liljenquist (2013-2014)
  • Faith-Anne Kocadag (2012-2013)
  • Calum Trotter (2011-2012)
  • Elizabeth Murrell (2010- 2011)
  • Michael Lucento (2008-2009)
  • Ivan Sopin (2005-2006)
  • Michael Ariotti (2003-2004)
  • Molly Canady (2002-2003)
  • Ruslan Hristov (2001-2002)
  • Brian Talley (2000-2001)
  • Ying Ge (2000-2001)
  • Wade Saunders (1999-2000)

Karla Alwan Scholarship

We award the Karla Alwan Scholarship. The Computer Science faculty choose an outstanding student to receive this award in the memory of Karla Alwan. This scholarship is awarded from the Karla Alwan Computer Science Fund. Thanks to Melanie Buchheit for her generous support of this fund. Past Recipients:

  • Chelsea Jordan (2013-2014)
  • William Westervelt (2012-2013)
  • Matthew Antonelli (2011-2012)
  • Michael Lucento (2010-2011)
  • Elizabeth Murrell (2008-2009)
  • Nathanael Burns (2005-2006)
  • Molly Canady (2003-2004)
  • Jeff Rowe (2002-2003)
  • Mary Thornton (2001-2002)
  • Stacey Farr (Fall 2000-2001)

Jesse Shearouse Scholarship

We award the Jesse Shearouse Scholarship. We award this scholarship from the Jesse Shearouse Scholarship Fund. The Computer Science faculty choose an outstanding student to receive this award. Past Recipients:

  • Michael Bernard (2013-2014)
  • Benjamin Chopson (2013-2014)
  • Erik Leon (2013-2014)
  • Justin McNamara (2013-2014)
  • Calum Trotter (2012-2013)
  • Ryan Kroutil (2012-2013)
  • Matthew Antonelli (2012-2013)
  • Dakota Brown (2011-2012)
  • Ethan Pace (2011-2012)
  • Kevin Willett (2010-2011)
  • David Rogers (2008-2009)
  • Kyle Smith (2005-2006)
  • Zhenya Burachevsky (2003-2004)
  • Michael Ariotti (2002-2003)
  • Brian Talley (2001-2002)
  • Mary Thornton (2000-2001)
  • Chris McCarthy (1999-2000)

Our scholarships are also supported by the Dixie Crystal Scholarship Fund and the Computer Science General Scholarship Fund.