Parkersburg Garden Club Scholarship

The Biology Department has a scholarship of $1,000 available to students who have an interest in the study of botany and/or horticulture. This is made possible through the generous support of the Parkersburg Garden Club. The requirements are: a grade point average of 2.8 or greater, completion of BIOL 2020, and demonstrated interest in plant biology. Preference is given to students with proven financial need. The scholarships are awarded annually.  Students that are interested in the Parkersburg Garden Club Scholarship should contact  Past Recipients:

  • Cynthia Alexander (2014-2015)
  • Niesha Fox and Leah Lambert (2013-2014)
  • Justin Kriske and Matthew (Hunter) Seabolt (2012-2013)
  • Cameron Allen and Renate Loomis and Matthew (Hunter) Seabolt (2011-2012)
  • Cynthia Dang (2009-2010)
  • Warren Crabb (2008-2009)

Noyce MASTERS (Math and Science Teacher Education Readiness Scholarships)

The Goldwater Scholarship Program



Leslie B. Davenport Award

Dr. Davenport served as the head of the Biology Department for many years and this award is bestowed in his honor to a biology major who demonstrates academic excellence.  This award is presented to a student who completes the majority of the undergraduate degree at Armstrong and has maintained the highest GPA.  Past recipients:

  • Scot Kelly and Adam Raines (2014-2015)
  • Thomas Reams (2013-2014)
  • Yasmin A. Cofer (2012-2013)
  • Brittany House and Janelle Pokorski (2011-2012)
  • Gregory Barbier and Joshua Heath (2010-2011)
  • Warren Crabb and Fletcher Moore (2009-2010)
  • Ashley Elam and Rebecca Parker (2008-2009)
  • Missa Patrick Sanou (2006-2007)
  • Eva Whitehead (2005-2006)
  • Cheyenne Nevada (2004-2005)
  • Audie Sanks and Josh McKenzie (2002-2003)
  • Lori Choguette (2001-2002)

Biology Faculty Special Recognition Award

This award is given to a student who has provided the department with special service or who has made special accomplishments as a student biologist.  Faculty nominate and award a student who demonstrates outstanding leadership abilities, excels in undergraduate research, achieves other notable academic distinctions.  Past recipients:

  • Jacob Lee and Madalynn Walker (2014-2015)
  • Daniels S. Lee (2013-2014)
  • Morgan Greenlee (2012-2013)
  • Teffany Reaves and Samantha Schwartz (2011-2012)
  • Sara Rogers and Elizabeth Bates (2010-2011)
  • Warren Crabb (2008-2009)
  • Robyn Hoing and Charlotte Lizana and Mario Muscarella (2006-2007)
  • Bil Leidersdorf (2005-2006)
  • Eva Whitehead (2004-2005)
  • Tanja Payne and Laurent Guillou III (2002-2003)
  • Rebecca Warbington and Heather Hungerford (2001-2002)